Wednesday, June 02, 2010

Mythopoeic Awards Shortlist

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature

Barbara Campbell, Trickster’s Game trilogy consisting of Heartwood, Bloodstone, and Foxfire (DAW)

Greer Gilman, Cloud & Ashes: Three Winter’s Tales (Small Beer Press)

Robert Holdstock, Avilion (Gollancz)

Catherynne M. Valente, Palimpsest (Spectra)

Jo Walton, Lifelode (NESFA Press)

Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Children’s Literature

Kage Baker, The Hotel Under the Sand (Tachyon)

Shannon Hale, Books of Bayern consisting of The Goose Girl, Enna Burning, River Secrets, and Forest Born (Bloomsbury)

Grace Lin, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon (Little, Brown)

Malinda Lo, Ash (Little, Brown)

Lisa Mantchev, Eyes Like Stars (Feiwel & Friends)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Inklings Studies

Gavin Ashenden, Charles Williams: Alchemy and Integration (Kent State, 2008)

Dimitra Fimi, Tolkien, Race, and Cultural History: From Fairies to Hobbits (Palgrave Macmillan, 2009)

Douglas Charles Kane, Arda Reconstructed: The Creation of the Published Silmarillion (Lehigh Univ. Press, 2009)

Michael Ward, Planet Narnia: The Seven Heavens in the Imagination of C.S. Lewis (Oxford, 2008)

Elizabeth A. Whittingham, The Evolution of Tolkien’s Mythology: A Study of the History of Middle-earth (McFarland, 2008)

Mythopoeic Scholarship Award in Myth and Fantasy Studies

Lucas H. Harriman, Lilith in a New Light: Essays on George Macdonald’s Fantasy Novel (McFarland, 2008)

Farah Mendlesohn, Rhetorics of Fantasy (Wesleyan Univ. Press, 2008)

Marek Oziewicz, One Earth, One People: The Mythopoeic Fantasy Series of Ursula K. Le Guin, Madeleine L’Engle and Orson Scott Card (McFarland, 2008)

Leslie A. Sconduto, Metamorphoses of the Werewolf: A Literary Study from Antiquity through the Renaissance (McFarland 2008)

Caroline Sumpter, The Victorian Press and the Fairy Tale (Palgrave Macmillan, 2008)

The winners of this year’s awards will be announced during Mythcon XLI, to be held from July 9 -12, in Dallas, Texas. A complete list of Mythopoeic Award winners is available on the Society web site:

No comments: